Food Thursday: pre-race pasta

I’m running a half marathon Saturday. There are a handful of things that I do differently in the days leading up to a long race. I do a little extra stretching. I rest my legs. I pay attention to how much water I’m drinking so I go into race day well-hydrated. I pay attention to what I eat too – keeping things light. And the night before I like to have lean protein and pasta. I don’t pile it on the plate but I do think having the right balance of carbs the day or two before a race makes me feel better and makes me run better. So this morning I’ve been looking through recipes trying to decide what to make Friday night.

I could go with the standard kid favorite – homemade mac & cheese and grill some chicken. (And I might.) But I just found this recipe in my binder that I tore out of Runner’s World. I love a good peanut chicken recipe. I made a few tweaks to this one and I think it’s both kid friendly and fairly easy.

Soba Noodles with Peanut Sauce
6 TB reduced sodium peanut sauce
2 TB sesame oil
2 TB peanut butter
4 TB rice vinegar
1 tsp grated ginger
2 tsp minced garlic
1 10oz package of soba noodles or whole wheat fettuccine
2 chicken breasts, cooked & shredded
5 green onions, cut into matchsticks
1/4 cup sesame seeds
1/2 cup peanuts

1. In a large bowl, whisk together the first six ingredients (thru the garlic)
2. Bring water to boil and cook noodles according to package directions.
3. Add sauce to noodles and toss to coat. Add chicken, green onions, sesame seeds & peanuts and toss again.

I always put the peanuts on the table and let the kids add another handful on top – it’s kind of fun that way. And when food is fun, they usually do a better job eating it. To round out the meal, I’ll probably steam some broccoli and serve it on the side. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

