the joy of detours

I love magazines. I have subscriptions to more than a few and I like to read them cover to cover – even the intro from the editor. Yesterday I sat down to lunch and opened a brand new O magazine (yes, Oprah’s magazine). She always has a one page feature that gives some insight into the contributing writers for that issue. I loved this month’s interview so much that I’m stealing it for today’s post.

The first question is about detours and that’s what drew me in. I’m a planner and a bit of a control freak but I still believe that life is full of detours and the way we handle them can impact us for the rest of our life. As one of my favorite quotes states: “The really happy person is one who can enjoy the scenery when on a detour.” ~anonymous

My most meaningful detour has been…
I think this changes over time. In my 20s I would have said it was graduating from college a year early. Now I say it was moving to my current small town. For a person who publicly and adamantly stated she never wanted to live in a small town, this move six years ago was a very unexpected detour. I didn’t handle it well at first. Now that I see the people that have come into my life because of this move, I realize that this detour has had a huge impact.

I’ve always wanted to…
Take my children on road trips throughout the country. To show them the beauty that God has created. To expose their minds to sights, cultures and people. To create memories and bonds that will last a lifetime.

I have a list of things in my head, a list that is added to regularly, and instead of it being a “wish list” I try very hard to accomplish those inner challenges/wishes. See also: half marathon, triathlon, getting paid to write… I’m a goal setter and an objective achiever.

The one place I always come back to is…
Church. No matter where I’ve lived, I’ve always found myself kneeling in a Catholic Church. Even when I was younger and sporadic (at best) in my attendance. No matter what’s going on in my life, that Mass has been consistent in its format and in its meaning to me.

My favorite road trip music is…
Oh! Anything you can sing and dance too. It might be 80s rap songs. Or a list of today’s Top 40. I want my road trip music fun and happy!

2 thoughts on “the joy of detours

Leave a Reply

