Food Thursday: Cashew Chicken Salad Sandwiches

Last weekend some grandparents came to watch J’s baseball game in the morning. They were staying for lunch and I wanted to have something in the house besides deli sandwiches (or peanut butter & jelly). I did not however want to cook anything – particularly because the weather is warming up and who wants to heat up the kitchen? So that morning I grabbed a rotisserie chicken and dug out an old recipe. As I ate these sandwiches I kept asking myself why I don’t make them more often.

I love this twist on chicken salad and the original recipe came from Cooking Light so it’s even a healthy twist on chicken salad. Make some tomorrow and you’ll have it in the fridge all weekend for easy sandwiches!

Cashew Chicken Salad Sandwiches
1/2 cup fat free sour cream
2 TB light mayo
1/2 tsp curry powder
4 cups roasted, skinless chicken, chopped (one rotisserie chicken works perfectly)
1/2 cup chopped celery
4 TB chopped cashew pieces
2 TB finely chopped green onions
buns or bread

Combine the first three ingredients in a large bowl and stir to mix them together. Add the chicken, celery, cashews and green onions and stir until well mixed. Serve on bread of your choosing. We used pretzel rolls last weekend and I like the addition of a little bit of lettuce or spinach on my sandwich.

3 thoughts on “Food Thursday: Cashew Chicken Salad Sandwiches

  1. Yum! I’m going to file this recipe away in case I ever need to do away with M. He’s a bit allergic to cashews. I wonder how it would be without them, since I’m kinda fond of having him around.

    A grocery store near us makes an amazing chicken salad that has pineapple in it. That might work!

    1. I think the cashews are more about texture than taste. I bet you could toss sunflower seeds in there with the same effect, or just skip the nuts entirely.

Leave a Reply

