the only girl

I took my girls to camp yesterday and as soon as I returned home, I felt a different dynamic. There was baseball on the TV and that’s all I could hear. No One Direction booming from a bedroom upstairs. No teenager lounging on the couch with her nose buried in her Kindle. No pile of shoes & accessories on the floor. I wasn’t expecting it, but it’s a little strange to be the only girl in the house.

I only have one child’s schedule to work around and every night this week he’ll be with his dad at baseball. That means I’ll have chunks of time all to myself every night too. It’s very strange this instantly lightened schedule with a single focus. But it isn’t just the pace of my week that’s different:

  • I planned different dinners & bought different foods at the grocery.
  • I tucked one kid in and had an extra kid-free hour last night.
  • We went on a walk after dinner and everyone was ready to go in less than 1 minute.

I’ve got a few fun activities planned for J and I this week. It’s a nice treat to be able to spend some one-on-one time with him. At the same time, I have this nagging feeling in the back of my head… I’m outnumbered in my own house for the first time.

3 thoughts on “the only girl

  1. Im the only girl right now too. K left for camp the day D came home. Granted, the 20 min overlap at home resulted in a fight, so I guess absence does not make the heart grow fonder where teen twins are concerned.

Leave a Reply

