To tri or not to tri

Oh you guys… I have a dilemma in my head right now. I didn’t do a triathlon all summer. Baseball schedules and vacations got in the way and I was okay with that because I knew that my most favorite tri was waiting for me at the end of September. The triathlon that I have done every year since they started having it. The triathlon where last year I set a PR by 16 minutes! The last triathlon of the season in these parts because it starts to get darn chilly for outdoor swimming by the end of September. In essence, my last chance for a triathlon in 2012.

Then life and half marathon training conspired to keep me out of the pool regularly and my bike training has been non-existent at best. So here I am with the September tri just 12 days away and I haven’t registered.

I am sad because I love this event and I love doing triathlons. At the same time, I am telling myself that there is no point in paying good money for this triathlon when I have no hopes of coming near last year’s time. It doesn’t feel like it will be much of an accomplishment just to do the triathlon when I’ve already got more than one under my belt. Plus, it is the declared year of the half marathon so I’m right to keep myself focused on that and use swimming & biking solely as cross training.

Right?!?

I posted this dilemma on Twitter last week and the responses just echoed both sides of my brain. One friend agrees with the sensible part of my brain and says to focus on the half marathon this year. Another friend says throw caution to the wind – do the tri just because you love it.

I don’t know what to do.

I’ve heard the lake hasn’t been cleared for swimming all summer because of the drought and some nasty algae – that would make the decision much easier. But what if it’s all systems go? Do I just wake up in the wee hours and head out for the pure joy of the challenge? Do I stay home and know that I’ve got a different challenge ahead of me this year and next year I can bring back the triathlon with a vengeance? (maybe even an Olympic tri? Shhhhh.) Do I pick a day next week and do my own triathlon just so my body remembers how it feels?

ARRRGH!! I’m not built to be a wishy-washy person. This is driving me crazy!

3 thoughts on “To tri or not to tri

  1. Your words:
    “no point in paying good money for this triathlon when I have no hopes of coming near last year’s time”… is that what matters? the time? (and if so, that’s fine. If it’s about the time and you haven’t been training, then perhaps this isn’t the year to do the tri.)

    Or does this matter more:
    “my most favorite tri”
    “The triathlon that I have done every year since they started having it”
    “I love this event and I love doing triathlons”
    “head out for the pure joy of the challenge”

    They’re your words, not mine. I’m just cutting and pasting.
    🙂

  2. Your friend, Lyndsay’s, comment up there pretty much nailed it. Ask yourself WHY you would be doing this tri. I think you already have your answer.

    ((hugs))

Leave a Reply

