A wish for my children

I wanted to do something fun with the kids for Fall Break. My requirements were nothing budget busting and include a day or two of downtime. So I planned a trip to visit my sister down in Louisville. We had a great time – I’ll probably write about it tomorrow and share a few pictures – but as I was driving home Saturday night it hit me that I’m lucky. I’m lucky that I get along so well with my siblings that planning a visit is like planning a vacation.

Take this trip for example, I knew I’d be hitting the Indy area right around dinner time. I texted my brother to see if they had plans, he invited us over for spaghetti & meatballs. Not a huge deal but he very easily could have said they were too busy on a weeknight. He didn’t say that so instead of hitting a drive thru somewhere off the Interstate – the kids got to play with their cousins, we all got to get out of the car for a couple hours and had a much better dinner.

A couple of months ago I decided the trip to Louisville would be a fun getaway and I emailed my sister with the possible dates and my rough ideas of fun. She didn’t hesitate to shift her work schedule and put us up in her house for two nights. I know it’s not always easy to have house guests, especially when you’re not used to having kids around, but she and her husband have never turned us away – even when the plans are last minute.

So on the drive home I couldn’t help but think of how fun it is that all three of us (and our spouses) get along. I know from talking with my friends, that isn’t always the case.

And that’s what I wish for my children – that they too can grow up and call their brother and sister their friends.

3 thoughts on “A wish for my children

  1. I love this so much. I know we recently discussed my relationship with my brother, so you know what this means to me and how it would be my wish for my children, too. I hope all of our kids can have it.

Leave a Reply

