My non-training plan

I read a lot of blogs about running and runners and training plans and race plans etc etc. This time of year people are starting to post their plans for next year (I’ve got one of those posts started too). A number of people post weekly recaps of their training. The running geek in me loves these posts. They are often inspiring – especially when I am in training.

But here’s the thing. I’m not in training. And I’m loving it.

Don’t get me wrong. I love training (most of the time). Its challenges and order and structure appeal to me in many, many ways. And I have trained hard all year. But all year I’ve trained for the same distance. I think I’ve worn paths in my long run routes. I accomplished my goals and I’m very happy with my running this year. So happy that I’ve decided to reward myself by doing whatever I want for the rest of the year.

I’m not building distance. I’m not training for a race. I have no race goals. (not in the near future anyway) Feel like a run? I’m in. Feel like hitting the stationary bike and lifting weights? Sure! Can I make it to yoga class? Super!

In an effort to inspire the other non-trainers out there (and I hope I’m not the only one), here’s my non-training plan for this week:

  • Monday: Run whatever distance feels good, ended up with 4.4 miles
  • Tuesday: Run with a friend in search of Christmas decorations, ended up with 3.4 miles
  • Wednesday: Speed work – the specifics of which have yet to be determined. Possibly hill repeats…
  • Thursday: Thinking I might get to yoga in the morning and if not, pilates in the evening. And maybe I’ll even go to zumba with my daughter.
  • Friday: who knows!??! Maybe I’ll run 10 miles… maybe I’ll swim laps… maybe I’ll do nothing!
  • Saturday: hmmm… well, I know I’m walking around the campus of Notre Dame so maybe that will be it for the day.
  • Sunday: a day of rest (that won’t be restful since I’ll be teaching Sunday School all morning and officiating a swim meet all afternoon)

This non-training plan is fun. Variety is the spice of life! And if all goes well, I’ll be more than ready to jump into a plan once the holidays are finished.

3 thoughts on “My non-training plan

  1. I like this.
    I may do another race in a couple months, depending on the weather. But, mostly I will run what I feel like running and as fast as I feel like running, and run with Andrew when I want to. And play the winter and the weather by ear.

Leave a Reply

