Food Thursday: Meatballs

When we have spaghetti I always make my own sauce and usually I cook up some Italian sausage to add to it. Every once in a while I take the time to make homemade meatballs instead and then I get extra hugs from my 8yo son. 🙂 Meatballs aren’t hard to make and they taste so much better than the frozen kind you buy at the store. These meatballs are good on top of spaghetti (did you just start singing?) and also great in a hoagie for a meatball sandwich. Yum!

Italian Meatballs

1 lb Italian sausage or a mixture of low fat hamburger and ground pork
1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese
1/2 cup bread crumbs
2 TB parsley
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp black pepper
4 eggs

  1. Preheat oven to 350 and spray a jelly roll pan with cooking spray.
  2. In a large bowl, mix all ingredients with your hands. Roll the meat mixture into balls, placing them on the baking sheet. I usually make mine a little larger than golf balls.
  3. Bake them for 10 minutes, flip them over and bake for another 10. Then drop them in your sauce to simmer for at least 15 minutes.

Makes approx 36 meatballs.

You can simmer them in the sauce longer if you’d like or if it works better with your dinner timing. And you can also make them bigger, just bake them for a few more minutes on each side to make sure they cook through.

2 thoughts on “Food Thursday: Meatballs

  1. I am so pinning this for next week’s menu. My daughter and my husband will bless your name when I make these. I make homemade meatballs all the time but never with italian sausage. And since hubbies and daughter #1’s motto is “EVERYTHING is better with sausage” you will be their hero. Or maybe I won’t tell them and they will think I am the genius!

Leave a Reply

