Feeling cranky

Tired & cranky: that’s how I feel today. And it’s only 6am. Maybe it’s because I can’t see out of one eye. Seriously – I’m not making this up. I have worn glasses since I was 8yo and dutifully visit the eye doctor each fall. But in the past six weeks I’ve noticed that I’m constantly squinting. That I have to lean very close to my computer screen. That I can hardly read the newspaper. It appears that my left eye turned 82 on my birthday last month and I can no longer see out of it. I could walk around covering it up all the time (which I’ve unconsciously found myself doing when I’m reading). But I’m thinking that’s not the best solution what with the need for depth perception and all. Ugh. I’m going to have to pay for an eye doctor visit out of pocket. This makes me cranky.

I am exhausted and have an exhausting weekend ahead of me. I volunteered to work at a church function Saturday night and I’ve been assigned a shift from 6-midnight. That’s a long time on my feet late in the day. And I have to bake something for that function. And I am “working” the Saturday night Mass. And I have to be back at church at 8am to teach Sunday School. This makes me cranky.

I had one of those weeks were everything was whirling around me and I didn’t have the systems in place to catch all the whirls. I ended up missing things and chasing things when I’d much prefer to be proactive and have everything in its place. I’m back on top of it all now but my goodness… I’m not sure what happened to Monday, Tuesday or Wednesday. This makes me cranky.

My knee is hurting. It makes terrible noises whenever I bend it (you should hear me when I walk downstairs… actually that’s the problem you *can* hear me when I walk downstairs). And in the past week or so there’s a pain right under the kneecap that I can’t deny. It especially hurts when I push off or walk down stairs. Dr. Google says it’s ruined cartilage. It sounds to me like there’s no cartilage. I’m not sure what to do about this. Which means, of course, that I’ll do what I always do. Stretch a little extra before & after a run and ignore the rest. After all, it’s not like you can regrow cartilage. This makes me cranky.

I think those are all the complaints that are currently floating around my head. I’ll go out for a run today and probably feel much less cranky. Unless I run into a telephone pole or something because I have no depth perception.

5 thoughts on “Feeling cranky

  1. I am not sure whether to laugh or cry for you. That whole knee thing makes me nervous, though. I’m starting to think it may be time for a new exercise plan. Get through the Spring events and maybe have a summer of walking 🙂

  2. knee could just be tendinitis..anti-inflammatory work great for that. So does beer. Actually, Beer would probably help your eye too, because you wouldn’t notice that you couldn’t see and probably that pole wouldn’t hurt so much either….just sayin.

Leave a Reply

