Tasty Thursday: Breakfast Sandwich

Breakfast for dinner is a tried and true option for a busy night around here. And breakfast for dinner doesn’t get much easier than the breakfast sandwich. You can even eat them on the way to practice if you need to. Plus it’s whole grain, protein & dairy all in one handheld package – perfect.

The only problem with breakfast sandwiches in my house is that two of three kids only eat scrambled eggs. Now, you can make scrambled eggs work on a sandwich but it gets a little messy and isn’t quite as portable as I’d like. So when my friend Sarah posted a picture on Instagram of making eggs in a muffin tin I started thinking. She didn’t scramble hers (they came out more like poached eggs) but I figured you could do scrambled. This week I gave it a shot. And the results were so good and easy that I knew I’d be sharing it. Added bonus? You could make a bunch of eggs like this on Sunday and eat them all week. You could even assemble the sandwich ahead of time and wrap it in foil.

Breakfast Sandwich

  • 12 eggs
  • Shredded cheese
  • 12 Whole Wheat English Muffins
  • 12 slices of cheese
  • Crisco or butter to grease the muffin tin
  • Canadian Bacon (optional)

1. In a large bowl, scramble your eggs with a splash of milk. Pour into well-greased muffin tins approximately 3/4 full. Toss in a bit of shredded cheese.

IMG_0595

2. Bake at 350 for 20 minutes.

IMG_0596

3. While the eggs are baking, toast your muffins and butter them. Cook your Canadian Bacon in a saute pan with a bit of water – about three minutes on each side. Put a slice of cheese & bacon (if using) on each muffin and when the eggs are done place an egg on top. Assemble the sandwich and lay them out on a baking sheet. Pop them back in the 350 degree oven for three minutes to melt the cheese and make them all gooey.

IMG_0598

Thumbs up all the way around the table for these sandwiches!

3 thoughts on “Tasty Thursday: Breakfast Sandwich

  1. Cool!!! I Enjoyed mine a lot. I even wrapped mine in parchment paper, and a ziplock and froze them and got a good two weeks worth of breakfasts. I also added spinach to half of mine, my kids like spinach…oddly and that worked out good too. Since I don’t have an oven at work, I would warm them in the parchment for about a minute, not quite as crispy as the oven but it totally worked.

  2. That’s awesome! I’ve been making my breakfast sandwiches in the microwave. 1 egg in a higher-sided ramakin, just scrambled slightly with a fork. Cover it and nuke it for 40 sec. Then I nuke a piece of canadian bacon for 10 sec. All this while toasting the english muffin. This has become my go-to breakfast and it takes less than 2 minutes to make.

Leave a Reply

