Checking another trip off my list

I have this mental list of places and things I want to show my children. I want to expose them to places that many only read about. I want to give them a frame of reference for many of our nation’s great places. Take them to both oceans? Check. Grand Canyon? Check. Yellowstone? Check. It’s a long list and I won’t bore you with all of it. Last week though, we checked another trip off the list: Washington D.C.

It was a fantastic week, a bit on the chilly side for most of it but with lots of blue skies so I’m not complaining one bit about the weather. All three kids proved once again to be great travelers – getting excited about the new sights each day and making even the 12 hour drive seem a breeze. I think it was one of our best vacations, and as with all good vacations, we’d all like to go back again some day. We were able to see a lot of things but in a place like Washington, there’s always more to see and do.

DSC_0109

We saw…
– 12 Monuments or Memorials
– 5 Smithsonian Museums
– All three branches of our government (White House – though we couldn’t go inside, Supreme Court & Capitol)
– Library of Congress
– Ford’s Theatre
– National Archives (FYI the Declaration of Independence is getting very hard to read)
– Arlington Cemetery and its Eternal Flame and the changing of the guards at the Tomb of the Unknown Solider
– Mount Vernon

We drove through the city at night so they could see the monuments and buildings all lit up. We walked the streets of Old Town Alexandria. And we took the metro nearly every day, which made DC really feel like a big city to my gang. As J noted when we got off the metro stop and walked past office buildings one morning, “I didn’t know Washington D.C. was a big city too. I thought it was just monuments and stuff.” Now they know – first-hand – what D.C. is like.

DSC_0039

And while I’ve seen nearly every bit of that before, it was like seeing it with fresh eyes as I watched my children learn and appreciate. I’m ready to start planning the next big trip already.

5 thoughts on “Checking another trip off my list

  1. I loved taking my kids to DC a few years ago. It’s definitely one of my favorite places to visit and you never run out of things to do there. So glad you had a great trip.

Leave a Reply

