Spring Schedules

Go ahead, tell me I’ll miss these days. That someday I’ll have so little going on that I’ll wish I had the hectic calendar that faces me for the next 4-6 weeks. The calendar that has my husband coaching a baseball game on the same day that my son has a baseball game (different teams) on the same day that my daughter has a swim meet on the same day that I’m officiating that swim meet on the same day my other daughter has tennis practice. Or the day that has me racing (out of town) and my oldest at swim practice and my husband at baseball practice and my daughter at tennis practice and my son at his baseball practice all at the same time or literally back-to-back.

I’m not sure how but the calendar only gets worse as the weeks go on. I know I’m not the only one in this situation. And I know all of us who do the calendar juggle enjoy watching our kids do the things they enjoy. That we love giving them these opportunities and truly don’t mind. I’m just saying I’d like a little downtime now and then.

And yes, I realize I’ve written about this same topic before. I know that a few times each year that damn calendar just overwhelms me. And I also realize that the kids are at an age where it’s not going to let up anytime soon. It’s my blog, if I want to have a running theme of crazy calendar rants I can.

I’m not so sure I’ll really miss this as I’m enjoying a leisurely dinner, have time to read a book without falling asleep on page two and don’t feel like I’m in a perpetual state of catching up. Nope.

One thought on “Spring Schedules

  1. Kind of funny that I was too busy to see this post yesterday 🙂 Yesterday when I managed to get all kids to the right places and the right times and didn’t lose a single one. The only issue being that I had to pick one kid up from baseball practice early in order for us to get to an orchestra concert.

    Today looks to be more of the same (thanks for a timely newspaper article which informed me of something I didn’t have on my calendar yet). Unless, this apocalyptic thunderstorm arrives, then I might be down a track meet.

    But yes, it IS a blessing to see and watch our kids find their “thing” and be able to give them the opportunities to do that. And I am pretty sure I will miss this one day….if I make it through the last two months of the oldest kid’s senior year, first.

Leave a Reply

