Those nuns are downright sporty

Three or four times a year – usually on those last warm days of fall or the first warm days of spring – I shirk all responsibilities and head to Lake Michigan. I hike along its dunes. I sit on its shore and soak in the sound of the waves, the shades of blue and the breeze off the lake. It is my heart-home. It may make for some serious catching up but those hours at my Lake do wonders for my soul.

Yesterday was one of those golden days. I convinced a friend to join me and we hiked a 5 mile trail through woods, up & down dunes and along the shore. It was a lovely hike – 60 degrees and cloudy so we weren’t even too hot. Then we headed to the beach with chairs and books in hand. As if on cue, the sun came out. I don’t know how we managed to tear ourselves away. It was honestly a perfect, perfect day.

And just when I thought it couldn’t get any more perfect it did.

There was a group of nuns having a picnic at the beach. And they came down on the beach – in full habit – to play catch, kick the soccer ball around and skip stones.

IMG_0711

I was giddy. It was like the Nuns Having Fun calendar had come to life right before my eyes. They were laughing and talking and cavorting – all in full tights, polyester gowns and habits. Oh I loved it. If I had a better camera, I would have taken so many pictures. They waded in the water. They posed for pictures. They even ran on the beach. It was awesome.

IMG_0712
Immediately after this picture, they lined up and ran up the beach.

This day will not just live in my memory as a beautiful day that fed my soul. It will forever be the day I watched a group of nuns play football on the beach.

4 thoughts on “Those nuns are downright sporty

  1. The fact that you got out to one of my favorite places on such a beautiful day makes me super jealous. BUT, I am so glad you had that. We all need those days. The fact that you got to see these nuns at play just rocks.

Leave a Reply

