I miss my plan

I’m not training for anything right now. That’s fine, it’s fun to take a break from training. It feels good even to not have the demands of a training schedule. I’ve been off plan since the Marathon Relay a few weeks ago and I’ve enjoyed a few extra days of rest. I’m enjoying getting variety back into my workouts. What I’m not enjoying is the feeling of indecisiveness I have every morning.

When I’m on a training plan I know exactly which day has speed workouts, which day has cross training, which day has long runs. I wake up and think about what’s on my workout schedule and prepare. Now I’m waking up and have no idea what I am going to do for today’s workout. Maybe I’ll run, maybe I’ll ride my bike, maybe I’ll lift weights (I really should lift weights). This feeling is very disconcerting to me.

It’s not a decision of *if* I’m going to exercise. It’s a decision of what to do and it’s driving me crazy. My days are so very busy right now that part of me feels like I should appreciate not being guided by a schedule. But what I’m discovering is that I appreciate not having to think about it even more. I think I need a non-training schedule. Something with lots of variety that doesn’t let my fitness level suffer. I potentially have big plans for this summer and can’t afford to completely slack off.

Maybe something like this:

nonschedule

That seems fun… nice variety, nothing dictating pace or distance… Hmmmm I think I feel better already. Maybe a nice orderly non-training schedule is just what I needed. I’ll give it a try and see how it goes.

3 thoughts on “I miss my plan

  1. Wow, I’m right with you. I’ve been in full-training mode since October, and now that the first marathon is done (OC, 4:27:34, thank you), I’m sort of at a loss. Sure, I’ll keep up the gym training, but all I have as far as events are a 5K on Saturday and a 10K in June. Gonna be weird.

    Maybe I’ll get a burger.

Leave a Reply

