Birthday Interview: Another child on the verge of being a teenager

Oh my little Miss E just keeps growing up.

d21ab5557af70cbf8186ac9748941f46

DSC_0001

This year she started Middle School and I’m so proud of how she’s pushed herself in new ways. She joined the school Spell Bowl team and is playing tennis this spring. She has made brand new friends. She cut off a whole bunch of her hair and donated it to Locks of Love. She has made good strides in her piano playing and took up the clarinet this year as well. She joined the school band and challenged herself by entering the state music competition. She won a gold medal for her solo.

Ebd1

Life is not without its challenges for our new 12 year old. She hates waking up in the morning and remains the most scatterbrained person in the house. I hope she marries someone who is really good at keeping things organized. She is still the queen of accessories and there’s no such thing as too much sparkle in her life. Check out the shoes she picked to wear with her “boring” black pants/white top band uniform.

Ebd2

E added six states to her list of places visited this year with our Great American Road Trip II last summer. She earned seven (maybe eight… maybe more?!) Junior Park Ranger badges as we explored National Parks. Her favorite park? Yellowstone – a girl after her mother’s heart. She also traveled to Washington D.C. and her head almost exploded with all the history and knowledge there was to soak up. I believe we lost her three times in the American History Museum alone.

DSC_0053

She is a voracious reader (seriously, I can’t believe how quickly she reads) and she enjoys a wide range of books. She loves music and while she is no longer in dance class, she is becoming well known for her zumba moves at the local Y. She may be frustrated that her younger brother is nearly as tall as her, but she makes up for her short stature with a tall personality. She is brave in ways I never was at her age and remains mature beyond her years. Even so, she still lets us tuck her in each night and smiles when I call her Snugglebug.

These are a few of her favorite things:

color: yellow (she’s very consistent)
food: chocolate!
vegetable: bell peppers – raw
dessert: Ghiardelli’s triple chocolate brownies
part of school: Language Arts
sport: tennis
thing to do: read, I would read all day if I could
tv show: Chopped
song: right now? Ummm… probably… Alright by Darius Rucker
game: Angry Birds
book: seriously just one?!? {me: how about favorite that you’ve read this year?} Mark of Athena by Rick Riordan
restaurant: Station 21 because their mac & cheese is sooooo good
holiday: Easter because it has the religious significance of course but you also get lots of chocolate.
animal: hummingbird

What did you request for your birthday dinner?
Baked Chicken Alfredo and devil’s food cake with cream cheese frosting.

What is something that can always make you smile?
Goofing around with my little brother.

What do you want to be when you grow up?
A lawyer, because a lawyer basically does two things: research and argue and I think I’m pretty good at both of those things.

If you could go anywhere on vacation, where would you go?
I would go on a European Tour. I would travel to Rome and Greece and France and England and Germany and Ireland. I’ve read about them and learned about some of them and they have so much history that I want to learn about and see.

What do you love about each person in our family?
I love Dad’s giant bear hugs when it’s time for bed. I love the helpful (though sometimes unwanted) sisterly advice from K. I love how J speaks his mind and doesn’t care what anyone says. And I love how Mom knows exactly what makes me feel better when I’m feeling down and I love your delicious pastas.

What were some of your best memories from this past year?
Washington DC is definitely one of the best memories. And I LOVED our road trip last summer, you know Yellowstone was so cool. I started Middle School and I’m happy that I have new friends. Playing clarinet is one of my favorite things and making first chair was a good memory.

What are some of your wishes for this year?
I want to go on more road trips because there’s so much to see and learn. I would like to improve at playing the clarinet. And I want to never, ever, ever once lose my new cell phone. [editor’s note: that is a good challenge, birthday or not she’s already received a lecture about that gift.]

Each year I interview my children on their birthdays and write a post about their year. My hope is that someday these musings will spark special memories. Search for ‘birthday interview’ over there on the right to read previous posts.

5 thoughts on “Birthday Interview: Another child on the verge of being a teenager

  1. I hope she has a great day!! And I want to come over to your house for her birthday dinner and also, those shoes are my favorite too.

Leave a Reply

