To push or not to push, that is the question: Olympic Triathlon

I’ve been wrestling with the idea of whether or not I want to push into a new race distance or just stop training, stay in shape and run the occasional race. Both options appeal to me for different reasons. After my April half marathon I decided I would take the month of May to “hang out” in a sense. My workouts were solely dictated by doing whatever sounded good that day. I told myself that by May 31 I would decide if that was my summer plan or if I was going for something bigger.

I knew I’d do a triathlon this summer because I think they are fun and because it would be a good way to shape my workouts. If you’re training for a triathlon you have to do all three disciplines: swim, bike, run. It’s a great way to mix things up in the exercise department. The big question in my mind was whether that triathlon would be the fun sprint distance or a bigger challenge.

I spent the month of May wrestling with the idea of this bigger challenge. I talked to people who have done it. I borrowed a road bike to test. I swam a mile with no rest to see how it felt. I held plenty of “what if” discussions with people in my life. I did some research. I looked at training plans. I waited until the end of the month to see how I’d feel.

Yesterday, I registered for my first Olympic Distance Triathlon: 1500 meter swim, 24.9 miles on the bike and 6.2 miles of running. That’s 32 miles altogether. I’m a little nervous, but in a good way. I’ve set a training schedule that is certainly going to be a challenge, but I’m ready for it. I picked an event that seems to be a good size and good venue. I officially started training yesterday.

TriIndy

There will be a day when I’ve reached the limit of what I can convince my body to do. A day where the thought of an intense training schedule will turn me off. Today is not that day.

13 thoughts on “To push or not to push, that is the question: Olympic Triathlon

  1. Yes! I was wondering if you signed up for it, but I figured you’d share either way. You’ve got this–and I’d love to come cheer you on if you’d like.

    1. Are you kidding me?!? I’d love to have some cheerleaders. Knowing a friendly face is ahead is a good motivator 🙂

  2. Yay!! You’re awesome Barb!

    Can’t wait to toast your success just a few days later! (Will you be able to climb up to those waterslides or are we spending all our time in the hot tub?) 🙂

  3. Yeah Barb!!! You’re going to do great at this distance and you are definitely a braver woman than I am. I could’ve switched to the Olympic distance for my July 20th Tri but I decided to stick with the sprint. Maybe someday I’ll venture into a longer tri.

  4. Yay! You can totally do it. I’ve done 8 tris so far—-6 sprints, 1 Oly, and 1 HIM. I was terrified of the bigger distances. The Oly was hard for me, but I did it! And you can—and will—too. Just put the work in, and you’ll have a successful race day. So proud of you!

Leave a Reply

