Pushing off thoughts of school

School starts in about two weeks and as usual I find myself with mixed feelings. On the one hand: hooray! my days are my own again and it’s quiet in the house! On the other hand: my kids are another year closer to leaving my house which means we’re running out of time for beach time and day trips and fun adventures.

The kids have been busy this summer with camps and sports and a myriad of activities. But now that August is here most of those activities are done or on break. It’s time for me to gather my kids and do things together. It’s time to cross off some of those summer adventures we planned. It’s time for me to let them sleep in some days but on others to wake them up early so we can hit the road for a day trip. And in preparation I did something I’ve never done before. I told my clients that I’m taking 1-2 days off each week for the next three weeks. Usually I just work early and/or late when we spend the day playing but this summer I want to keep that time just for the kids.

It’s probably not a coincidence that this summer my oldest starts high school. And with that I’m quickly realizing how few summers I have left with three kids in tow. I’m hoping to make the most of it.

Leave a Reply

