Tasty Thursday: Granola Bars

School is back in session and I’m on the hunt for good snacks. After school. On the way to practice. After practice. While watching a sibling compete. After a run, bike or swim. Snacks play a big role in my house. The problem I have is that when you’re eating snacks on-the-go, you often have to resort to something from the boxed, preservative-filled, sugar-laden variety. Not always of course – fruit is a big snack around here as are good ol’ peanut butter & jelly sandwiches and both are quite portable. But I’m not going to pretend to be the mom who doesn’t have chocolate chip granola bars, potato chips and rice krispie treats in my pantry. Because I do of course.

Still, I prefer steering my crew to snacks with a slightly healthier twist. I found this recipe for granola bars in The Runner’s Cookbook. I figure if it’s a snack that’s good enough for an NCAA champion, it might be worth trying for my busy house. And I thought you might want to try it too.

Granola Bars

3/4 cup packed brown sugar
1/2 cup granulated sugar
8 oz. vanilla yogurt
2 egg whites, lightly beaten
2 TB vegetable oil or applesauce
2 TB skim milk
2 tsp vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups flour
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp salt
3 cups uncooked oats
1 cup dried fruit (any variety), diced
1/2 cup nuts (optional)
2 TB flaxseed (optional)

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

2. In a large bowl, combine sugars, yogurt, egg whites, oil or applesauce, milk and vanilla. Mix well.

3. In a medium bowl, combine flour, baking soda, cinnamon, salt, and flaxseed (if using). Mix well. Add these dry ingredients to the large bowl and mix until combined.

4. Stir in the oats, dried fruit and nuts (if using). Spread the batter onto an ungreased 13×9 inch baking dish. Bake for 25-32 minutes until light brown and a knife placed in the middle comes out clean. Cool completely on a wire rack and cut into bars.

3 thoughts on “Tasty Thursday: Granola Bars

  1. Just be careful of flax seed. I made some energy snacks with some and they can make your intestines into super intestines…. 🙂 But, I will have to check these out!

  2. Oh, I’m going to try these this weekend. I’ve been sending granola bars with Luke every day because he gets to eat an afternoon snack in the classroom, but they aren’t cheap… and are questionably healthy.

Leave a Reply

