A list of thanks week 2

I have to admit, I’m feeling grouchy this morning. Too many things are on my plate and I know there’s more coming and I kind of feel like the little Dutch boy with his finger in the dyke. I was thisclose to not writing this post today. It’s hard to justify taking time (even if it is only 5-10 minutes) and I don’t necessarily feel in the mood to be thankful – it’s more fun to give in to the grumpies and think of all the things that are annoying me.

And then I realize this is precisely the moment when I need to be thankful. Otherwise, the annoying things/people win.

Looking back on my week I am thankful for:

  • Four days of fun and bonding with my husband in one of my favorite places on earth. Even if it did snow/sleet/rain on us at times, we still had so much fun.
  • 1113_NM4

  • The sight & feel of the first snowflakes of the season.
  • That my mums still brighten up my fall doorstep.
  • Watching my boy discover a book he actually loves and choosing to read over other activities.
  • Forcing myself out of my shell not once but twice this week. Leaving home when I’d have preferred not to and discovering a sense of peace and thoughtfulness I wasn’t expecting.

I’m going to end with a prayer that was in one of my daily reflections this week. I am trying to consciously remember it because I think it would be a wonderful way to start each day.

Almighty and ever-living God, strengthen our faith, hope and love. May we do with loving hearts what you ask of us and come to share the life you promise.

One thought on “A list of thanks week 2

Leave a Reply

