the sounds of morning

…my clock radio quietly turning on to wake me up
…the whoosh of the heater as it kicks on
…the click of keys on my computer keyboard as I go through emails
…the muffled loudness of my eldest’s clock radio as it plays music for 15 minutes until she gets out of bed
…the gentle clatter of dishes as my middlest gets her breakfast together
…the sound of pages turning in her book as she reads through breakfast
…the STOMPING, SLAMMING OF REFRIGERATOR AND YELLING OF MY ELDEST AT THE INDIGNITIES OF HAVING NO FROZEN WAFFLES TO MAKE FOR THE ONE GODFORSAKEN BREAKFAST SHE GETS TO EAT AT HOME ALL WEEK

…the mellow start to my day has been slightly marred.

2 thoughts on “the sounds of morning

Leave a Reply

