On top of my game

I like to read my birthday horoscope each year. Not the generic, January 10 horoscope for all Capricorns, rather the “here’s the year ahead for those born on January 10.” I love the predictions and notes about planets aligning and such. Usually they are a mix of caution and positive energy. There’s almost always some alignment of planets that is supposed to bring a rough patch. But I’ve never read one that says the whole year is going to be bad. That makes sense – who wants a birthday horoscope filled with doom and gloom for goodness sake. I mean, someone is writing these things and they aren’t going to completely chase you away if they can help it.

This year’s predictions are unusually glowing!

“A trine between the Sun and the Moon in your Solar Return chart this year is a fortunate aspect.” I had to look that up because I didn’t now how trine applied to astrology (look, my horoscope has already benefited me this year – I’m learning something new!). A trine is an angle the planets make to each other in the horoscope and also to other points of astrological interest. According to astrological tradition, they indicate the timing of transitions and developmental changes in the lives of people and affairs relative to the Earth. So apparently someone with a protractor thinks I’ve got a good Sun/Moon angle.

So what does that good angle mean? “It suggests that your domestic and career needs are not in competition with one another in the year ahead. Your inner needs tend to be mirrored by external events, and vice versa. This aspect is very powerful and rewarding.” So I’ve got that to look forward to.

And then there’s more math involved: “Saturn’s sextile to your Sun this year brings grounding, protective energy into your life.” That’s a 60 degree angle if you’re curious. It means that I “have the powers of practicality, realism, and caution on your side in the year ahead.” And also that any investments I make this year will be reaped well in years to come. Guess I’ll have to think carefully about how I invest my time & money this year.

Mercury is also getting along well with Saturn in my astrological chart this year. That’s supposed to bring me “Advances in intellectual and mental pursuits… and steady progress that has long-lasting results.” It is also supposed to help ground my thinking and give me stabilizing energy. I don’t know that I’ve ever thought about stabilizing energy before – sounds good though.

I do have a few notes of caution of course. I’m supposed to watch my “tendency towards overexertion,” and bouts of “impulsiveness.” I’m also supposed to make sure I “deal with anger issues from the root if they seem to be driving my behavior.” I’ve never been accused of being impulsive but maybe I will be in a fit of anger. That would not be a good investment to reap later.

Finally, my number this year is Nine. That means my year is “Ruled by Mars. This is a year of completion and transition. Advice – let go of things that are holding you back, give of yourself and express your sympathetic, compassionate side.”

Am I making fun of all this? Just a little bit. But only a little bit. I can’t imagine making any big decisions guided by my horoscope. However, I do think there’s something true in the whole thing. I don’t make New Year’s Resolutions but at the start of my own personal New Year, I do like to think ahead to what I can do to make the world around me a little bit better – particularly for my family and friends. So today, I’m starting out my year with a positive, energetic outlook and I’ll give some thought to letting go of negative things.

(I’ll also do my best to not cook or clean and eat a ridiculous dessert at some point in the day. After all, it IS my birthday.)

One thought on “On top of my game

Leave a Reply

