My race plan: no race plan

For the first time in four years I don’t have a race on the calendar. Not a 5K, not a half marathon, not a goal triathlon… nothing. I haven’t charged up my Garmin for a training run in three months. I haven’t run more than 5 miles in… I’m not even sure, maybe in three months too.

I’m trying to decide how I feel about that.

I loved the challenges I set last year (and the year before that etc. etc.). The outcomes of nearly all of those races were pretty wonderful too. And the ones that weren’t so wonderful have taught me lessons that I could have never learned otherwise.

I mentioned this feeling a few months ago: Losing the drive to race. And it hasn’t changed. I thought I’d feel the urge to sign up for something after the holidays. I’ve looked at races… I just don’t want to sign up for them.

I’ve gotten so much from running and from the challenges I’ve set for myself. But I’m not sure that I need those same things any more. I suppose the question is, what do I need?

5 thoughts on “My race plan: no race plan

  1. I have taken such a long break I am now craving a run…but it is like starting over and I don’t really have a focus on a race but I just want to get out there and be running…its kinda a fun feeling to have..no pressure just free

    1. Ultimately I think this “no pressure just free” is where I’m at right now. I enjoy running and right now love that I can run any mileage, any pace on any given day. It’s nice. Wish you & I could run together 🙂

  2. I ran for quite awhile with a “no pressure, no plan” plan. I miss my 2-3 months of watchless running. That was awesome. I think I might need to bring it back soon (as soon as my feet stop complaining at me). Whatever you decide, just following your heart and your feet is the best plan for you right now.

Leave a Reply

