The non-race training plan

March is just around the corner and while I’ve looked at a race or two, I’ve yet to commit to anything I want to do. I’m sure I’ll come up with some sort of race-related challenge for myself and I figure I’ll know it when I see it. In preparation for that coming epiphany (maybe I’ll find something next week… maybe in April… ), I’ve decided to ramp up my non-training training plan.

I’ve been coasting a bit through these cold winter weeks. Getting in some good workouts. Staying active 5-6 times a week but I wouldn’t say that I’ve been pushing too hard most days. It’s time to change that. I want to make sure that I’m in shape and ready to jump into whatever race or challenge sounds appealing. I’m going to try to ramp up my running a bit. Put some stronger effort into my cross training. Keep hitting the bike and the pool at least once a week. I don’t want to impose any sort of weekly mileage targets or follow a spreadsheet for goodness sake. I do, however, want to stick with the variety that my body and mind love and I’m ready for it to hurt a little bit now and then.

And if I share my plan with people (if anyone still reads my semi-occasional ramblings) then I feel more accountable. So here it is, the official

Non-Race Training Plan

  • Monday: Steady pace run for 3-4 miles.
  • Tuesday: Running workout. This could mean speed work, hill repeats, or a workout on the treadmill that varies pace, incline & includes some weight training in the middle. The goal is to push the running a little harder – not worried about mileage totals, just workout intensity.
  • Wednesday: Hot vinyasa yoga. This workout doesn’t mess around and for at least the next month (until my pre-purchased classes run out) I intend to stick with this as an excellent mid-week cross training session that leaves me shaky, sweaty & tired each and every time.
  • Thursday: Swim! I’m back to looking at my tri training workouts. Mixing in some drills and even endurance swims.
  • Friday: 60 minute Friday. That might be 60 minutes of running. Or 60 minutes of fast walking with a friend. Or 60 minutes on the bike. Or 30 biking followed by 30 running. You get the idea.
  • Saturday: Run or bike – kind of depends on what I did Friday. No predetermined distance or time. I will do whatever the day allows and whatever my body feels like doing.
  • Sunday: Rest. And if I’m lucky, read a book.

Lots of variety. Plenty of opportunities for intensity. And I think it will get me in race-ready shape… or at least race-training ready shape. I had a couple of hard workouts last week and realized that I missed that effort and that special tired muscle feeling at the end of the day. I’m ready to push.

2 thoughts on “The non-race training plan

  1. I like that you have a plan. It is nice to not have a plan for a while, but it always seems that when you are ready, having a reason for getting that workout in is helpful. Even if that reason is just to check off that day in the weekly plan. I also like that you left in lots of variety.

Leave a Reply

