I want to be more like Betty Draper

My kids are all blowing off school lately.

– Have a teacher who lets you come in early, correct all your homework so you’re guaranteed an A+ and a perfect review packet for test studying? DON’T GO IN AND REVIEW YOUR ASSIGNMENTS.
– Don’t understand something when it’s read aloud at school? DON’T READ THE PAGES AGAIN AT HOME EVEN THOUGH YOU HAVE THE BOOK TO DO SO.
– Have a deadline on Thursday? LIE TO THE TEACHER ABOUT THE ASSIGNMENT ON FRIDAY… AND MONDAY… AND TUESDAY..

I’m a little on the livid side of things right now. Ready to lock them all in their rooms until they show some common sense and initiative.

Instead, I think I’ll use Betty Draper as my role model. Betty Draper who ships her kids off to boarding school when they annoy her. Betty Draper who has a nanny/maid/cook in the house so she has more time for important things like horseback riding and lunches with friends. Betty Draper who makes snide, sarcastic, scarring comments to her children all the time. Betty Draper who is never found without a cigarette – I’ll trade the smokes for a drink though.

I bet if I farmed out responsibility for my kids to someone else most of the time, I’d be a lot less frustrated and angry about their lousy school performance of late. Being drunk and not having any responsibilities sounds like a much less stressful way to live.

Excuse me, I need to put together an ad for a nanny/maid/cook.

3 thoughts on “I want to be more like Betty Draper

  1. Responsibilities….pshaw! Overrated! I think that every time they shirk their responsibilities we should refuse to make dinner, or wash their clothes that week, or remember to pick them up from places, or pack their lunch…..

Leave a Reply

