Hey, hey we have a May birthday!

Just like that we officially have two teenage girls in the house (very funny, God – VERY funny). In my head, this second child of mine is my happy-go-lucky, not a care in the world, little girl. In reality, she is not so little nor so easy-going these days. That’s not a bad thing, mind you. Sometimes she seems to have weighty questions on her mind. Other times she surprises me with her willingness to be brave and try something new. She’s always up for an adventure and is my most regular library companion.

E_cubs

She entered her 13th year with an honest-to-goodness growth spurt – perhaps her first one ever. She cheered aloud when the doctor told her she’d finally topped 5 feet. She finished her 13th year by getting braces on just two days ago.

E_braces

Some things, however, certainly remain the same. The house is littered with her books (right now there is one on the couch, two on the kitchen table, two by her bed and a stack in her library basket). She still loves music and is the one most likely to sing along in the car. When we took a family trip to Nashville this spring, she was the one who stayed with her dad to listen to more live music while the other two went exploring with me. She is still playing the clarinet in band (and has spent at least half the year as first chair) (Oh and won another gold medal at the regional solo music competition). She doesn’t take piano lessons any more but still sits down to dabble and has even tried her hand at writing a song or two.

In a dressing room at the Grand Ol' Opry - maybe she'll be back some day as a performer?!
In a dressing room at the Grand Ol’ Opry – maybe she’ll be back some day as a performer?!

This past year she played in the Dells and joined me on beach adventures. She learned to ride her bike. She took her first airplane ride with her aunt & uncle on the 12th birthday gift of a lifetime: a trip to Disney World! In a true sign of her personality, one of the very first things she requested to do on that trip was have dinner with the Princesses.

E_Dis1

E_Dis2

She went to a jazz festival and was enthralled with new things from the clarinet she’d never considered before. My notoriously picky eater was adventurous at our dim sum lunch in Chinatown. She stepped in last minute on the interdisciplinary team for Academic Super Bowl and answered all of her questions correctly to help the team finish third overall. She’s playing tennis again this spring. She’s become very active in our church youth group and I’m excited for her as she enters her final year of Confirmation preparation.

Before I dive into her current favorites (some of which are very similar to previous years), let me tell you my favorite thing about her. Her imagination. She uses it when she notices that someone is sad and she says or does a little something to show she cares. She uses it when she’s writing in her many half-used notebooks. Her imagination shines when she’s happy and carries her when she’s sad. Her imagination is delightful and observant and creative.

Here are a few of her favorite things:

color: yellow
food: chocolate
vegetable: Ummmm… are potatoes vegetables? {yes} then potatoes!
dessert: fudge brownie sundaes with vanilla caramel ice cream
part of school: language arts
sport: tennis!
thing to do: read
tv show: The Voice – because it’s fun to see amateur artists be so amazing. The competition is exciting!
song: Soldier by Gavin DeGraw
game: Ticket to Ride
book: {when told she could have more than one, she signed with relief} Harry Potter series and Percy Jackson series will always be on my favorites list. This year I really enjoyed reading The Selection series.
restaurant: Claim Jumper – the potato cheese soup in a bread bowl is delicious!
holiday: Easter because Jesus Christ rose for us and… well, because I like the Easter candy!
animal: ladybug

What did you request for your birthday dinner?
Chicken alfredo bake and red velvet cake with cream cheese frosting.

What is something that can always make you smile?
My friends and books.

What do you want to be when you grow up?
Either a language arts teacher or a lawyer. A lawyer because I like debating. And a language arts teacher because I love reading and writing!

If you could go anywhere on vacation, where would you go?
Rome. {answered before I even finished asking the question.} The history, the mythology, the Vatican, St. Peter’s…. it would be awesome!

What do you love about each person in our family?

Dad: I like that Dad takes the time to go hit tennis balls with me.
Mom: We can talk about books together.
K: Sisterly advice – when she comes out of her room to talk to me that is. {cue eyeroll}
J: I can be a little kid with him. I can play sword fighting with him and not feel silly.

What were some of your best memories from this past year?
Nashville was fun! Latin camp is always one of my favorite things to do. Beach week with the family. The Dells were fun because I got to make a new friend. Academic Super Bowl was a lot more fun than I expected and I’m looking forward to doing it again next year.

E_Dells

What are some of your wishes for this year?
That I can read a lot more books. I want to make some new friends. I already hit the highest note on the clarinet this year so I suppose just keep playing it and getting better.

Each year I interview my children on their birthdays and write a post about their year. My hope is that someday these musings will spark special memories. Search for ‘birthday interview’ up at the top of the page to read previous posts.

4 thoughts on “Hey, hey we have a May birthday!

  1. Wonderful interview, happy birthday E! Also from your grandpa to his favorite grand daughter, (ha)

  2. That was awesome Barb. These interviews could be compiled into a book. They are so interesting and makes me wish I was your daughter. I know that sounds funny coming from an old lady but you enjoy life and therefore everyone around you enjoys it too. I think I know E a little better than the other two because I saw with her at the Jazz Festival here in Elkhart and we talked and I got to know her better. She is a very sweet, caring young lady and E may your year be wonderful and full of joy and may God bless you. Linda

Leave a Reply

