Summer learning

When the kids were younger – meaning they were home more often without all these crazy sports/work/friend schedules – I used to do some serious summer learning plans. We’d have weekly themes of science or writing or math. We’d take “field trips” to explore something related to the theme. I’d even give them homework.

Yep, I really did.

Now I’ve all but thrown in the towel. This summer my learning goals for the kids are simple:

1. Keep them off the TV as much as possible. I’m pretty lenient in the morning. They each stumble out of their rooms at different times. Some of them have morning obligations, some of them don’t. I’m training every morning for my marathon and then trying to get some work done. So before noon it’s just about a free-for-all when it comes to screen time. However, once lunch hits I’m trying really hard to keep them off the screens and chase them outside.

2. Weekly library visits. We always participate in the summer reading program at our library. We’re not always very good about getting there every week to log our reading time and enter to win prizes. This summer, I’m insisting on daily reading. (Let’s be honest – I only have to force the youngest to read every day.) As motivation, I’m taking them to the library each week to log those hours.

That’s it.

Well, I am also making the boy do spelling practice 3-4 times a week this summer since he made the Spell Bowl Team and the teachers have asked them to learn half the list over the summer. But that’s really it. Any science experiments, writing prompts or artwork will be spontaneous activities that happen as moods and time allows.

They don’t have a lot of downtime in their busy lives so I’m okay giving them a bit more of that in the summer. But I’ll be honest, summer is a big break from school. I kind of miss those summers where we had learning goals. Or maybe I just miss having all three of them home at the same time, engaged in an activity together 🙂 That could be it too.

My kids are getting old.

2 thoughts on “Summer learning

  1. In the past, we traveled too much in the summer to be constant about anything. So when we were home, it was kind of a free for all. This year we are all home, except for one week of the summer. But we are home because the kids are busy, especially the middle child who has three camps plus practice every night and rehearsals. But I am terrible at structure in the summer. I signed the youngest up for a few things just so he has a little bit of structure to his week. But after that? I’m flying by the seat of my pants here. We will see how long I can handle this.

  2. Luke does summer reading, of course, and I always buy him a grade ahead math book to work on. Surprisingly, I don’t have to ask him, he just sits down and does his math. He is clearly not my child.

Leave a Reply

