Being thankful for: children

This week’s challenge (week #6) is to take time to be grateful for someone under the age of 18. I like that this challenge is helping me to reflect on things that I don’t always think about. Let’s be honest I think about people under the age of 18 all the time – constantly. People under the age of 18 dictate the schedule of my days. I worry about them. I pray for them. I nag them. I cook and clean and do laundry for them. I laugh with them. I hug them. I read to them. I tell them I love them. I don’t, however, take time very often to be grateful for them.

How am I grateful for children?

I am grateful for my oldest because she was the one who taught me that I could be patient. I am grateful for her sense of humor and for her ability to weed out the fluff and focus on the right things.

I am grateful for my second child because she was the one who taught me that it’s good to be sensitive to the world. I am grateful for her creativity and for her ability to see the world in a different light.

I am grateful for my youngest because he was the one who taught me to be flexible. I am grateful for his strong sense of responsibility and for his ability to notice things that others don’t.

Thank you to my very own children. Thank you for teaching my heart how to expand with love, for reminding me how fun it is to play and learn, for bringing your unique personalities and talents into my life.

15 weeks, 15 letters, 15 minutes. To kick off 2015. Read about the gratitude challenge here.

Leave a Reply

