An open letter to my daughter as she starts high school

When my oldest started high school two years ago, the school gave us a postcard to write a short note to our kids that they would receive during their Freshman Orientation. I’m sending my second child off to high school and somehow missed that opportunity. But I still want to share some advice and tips before sending my child zooming down the slide of high school that will ultimately launch her into the world. Some of it is the same that I gave her sister but all of it is still so true.

High school is such a fun time. You learn so much about yourself, you start truly becoming the adult you are meant to be. You do things with your friends and have a sense of freedom and adventure that you rarely see again. I’m excited for my daughter as she starts this new adventure. I think this kid of mine is really going to come into her own over the next four years.

Epic

Since I didn’t get to slip a note into her locker at the high school, I’m going to slip this on her pillow tonight.

Welcome to High School!
I am so excited for you! I know you’re a little nervous now but I also know that once you’ve been in those halls for a day or two, the nerves will settle and you’ll start having fun. You will always remember these four years – here are a few things to remember while you’re in them:

– Pick your friends wisely and always be a good friend.
– Every experience is something you can learn from.
– Savor the good moments and put the bad behind you.
– Time management is one of your strongest allies.
– Life is full of choices, try your best to make good ones.
– You don’t have to know what you want to be when you grow up.
– Clean your room. A clean space gives you room to think and create.
– You’re going to make mistakes, own up to them, be responsible and move on to make better choices next time.
– Don’t let those mistakes be something that put you or those around you in danger.
– I will always give you and your friends a ride home, no matter where you are, no matter what’s been going on, at any time of the day or night.
– Don’t compromise in a relationship. A person who loves you will respect who you are.
– Stay true to yourself and your faith.
– Try to make your corner of the world a better place.
– Never be afraid to hug a friend.
– Surround yourself with supportive, positive people.

And most of all:
– There is nothing you could possibly do that will ever make me stop loving you.

Stay safe. Be smart. Follow the path that God has laid out for you – you might have to look hard for it sometimes, but I promise it’s there. Remember that you always have a family that is here for you. And never forget how very, very proud I am of you.

Love,
Mom

6 thoughts on “An open letter to my daughter as she starts high school

  1. Wonderful – is it silly I found myself tearing up a little….just realizing that my kiddos will be there in just a few short years. Will have to remember this idea – may have to steal it. 😉

  2. I love this letter. We think our kids know these things and they may even roll their eyes when they hear them, but every one of those items is worth saying, repeating and writing in a letter. My favorite is the reminder that you’ll always love her, no matter what.

Leave a Reply

