From clouds to sunshine

I didn’t want to do a swim workout today. I know that it’s something I need to add back into my routine. It’s such a good cardio workout and it’s a huge way to work hard and not aggravate the annoying Achilles tendon. But I’ve been struggling to get back in the pool regularly.

Yesterday was blustery and cold and I was exhausted so I didn’t pack my swim bag before bed. This morning was cold and damp and heavily overcast so I didn’t pack my swim bag when I woke up. But then, ten minutes before I was leaving to take kids to school, I decided to put on my swim suit – reminding myself that often the hardest part of the workout is getting there.

I convinced myself that I just had to do 2 of the 4 sets of each swim cycle I chose for today. Knowing that once I got through 2, I’d push through to do the final 2. It worked. I got in a mile and left knowing that I worked hard in the pool. All the muscles felt tired when I pulled myself out. When I opened the doors to walk out to the parking lot, I was greeted by a burst of sunshine. Patches of blue sky popping out between the quickly moving clouds.

It was like the sky acknowledged that I worked hard even when I didn’t want to. A little bit of sunshine to tell me I did a good job. (Or I’m going crazy… quite possible in my current sleep-deprived, perpetually behind state of mind.)

Still, I’ll hold onto that sunshine even though the day has clouded over again. And when I see the goggle imprints on my tired undereye bags I’ll smile because it means I conquered the gloomy day.

 

Leave a Reply

