Goals for 2017

Definition of resolution: a firm decision to do something

Definition of goal: the object of a person’s ambition or effort

I don’t like to set resolutions. I prefer action, ambition and effort over “firm decisions.” I don’t want to just decide I’d like to do something. I want to set plans in motion to do it. I have no resolutions for 2017 but there are some carefully considered goals. Checkpoints that I can reflect on throughout the year to see if my activity is moving me towards those goals or away from them. Goals like…

Be a better wife: I do a lot in this house and for my family but I don’t always do a good job of doing something specifically for my husband. This year I’d like to spend more time with my husband doing things for just the two of us.

Grow my spiritual life: I pray every day in different ways but this year I’d like to read a few books and consider my faith in a new light. I just bought a new daily planner (remember I still like those paper lists) and the planner includes weekly scripture quotes and a plan to include Bible reading in each day. I’m hoping that gives me a daily reminder to keep moving towards this goal.

Heal and renew: I want this Achilles tendon to get better. I want to start running again. I want to go on walk dates to catch up with friends. I want to reduce my stress and give myself a break more often. That’s a lot of wants but they aren’t wishes… they are steps I have already started taking towards a better me.

I want to read more books: In 2015 I read 85 books. Last year I read 59. That’s moving in the wrong direction and a good indication that I was overwhelmed and not taking good care of myself. I set a goal of 75 this year.

We’ll see how I do as I attempt to move through my life with intention and care. Care for those around me, care for those in my house, and care for myself.

2 thoughts on “Goals for 2017

  1. Barb every morning when we get up before we eat our breakfast Tom and I each do devotions have three devotion books we read in the Bible verses with them and then pray. It really helped start the day off in a better way. If it’s the first thing you do and you make it a goal everyday you can’t lose. May God bless you and your family this year.

  2. I’m working through reading my daily bible – it goes through every day of the year, and gives some insight to help understand the scripture in more depth as you read it. I’ve had goals to read the entire bible in a year…and it’s never happened. This is the year I’m hoping to complete it.
    As for books…I thought I was good to get in 25 last year!! Holy cow – both your past two years are amazing!

Leave a Reply

