food tuesday: pumpkin squares

This week while my grocery list in part revolved around the big event of the week – another half of it was anything but turkey. It kind of cracked me up that my grocery store had deli turkey on sale this week… seriously? turkey this week?!? Today my husband’s office is having an anti-thanksgiving lunch pitch-in – Mexican. That’s the idea – focus on food that’s the total opposite of Thanskgiving. I’m planning to sneak in and grab some guacamole 🙂 But I digress…

I mentioned last week that there are 2-3 things that I’m always requested to bring on Thanksgiving. Last week I gave you my corn bread & sausage dressing recipe. This week I’ll give you my pumpkin square recipe. I got this from a magazine years ago and it’s so yummy!

Pumpkin Squares

1 cup sugar
2 eggs
1 cup canned pumpkin
1/2 cup vegetable oil
1 cup flour
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt

– Preheat oven to 350 and grease a 9 inch square baking pan.
– Beat at medium speed: sugar & eggs for about 2 minutes. Add in pumpkin & oil and mix for another minute. Switch to low speed and add remaining ingredients, mix until well incorporated. (a minute or two)
– Pour batter into pan and bake 25-30 minutes or until it passes the toothpick test. Cool on a wire rack.
– Before serving give it some frosting: I suppose you could do the standard powdered sugar frosting, but try this variation instead… 3/4 cup powdered sugar, 2 TB softened butter and 1/2 tsp vanilla extract.

it’s so hard for me to bake this and not eat any before Thanskgiving.

4 thoughts on “food tuesday: pumpkin squares

  1. Pingback: NWI Parent

Leave a comment