grace in spring cleaning

I have an unusual bit of freedom in my schedule this week and I finally got around to putting it to good use. Yesterday morning I cut back all our grasses, pulled out a few early weeds, trimmed back some plants and got things ready for new growth. Then in the afternoon I tackled the room formerly known as the playroom. I tossed two garbage bags full of old toys, broken toys and random toy parts. I put aside one large bag of donations for our church garage sale. I moved a couple toys to the basement – toys that aren’t played with on a daily basis but are just too fun to part with quite yet.

Now the room has one corner reserved for some games and legos – J calls it his lego center – and a nice space for the girls to do homework. They are using our wobbly card table for now but I’m on the lookout for a better table. We can walk through the room without fear of what we’ll step on or trip over. And since the kids are getting older I think we’ll get more use out of the room. I have future thoughts of a computer desk in there for them and I might go all crazy and replace the chandelier with a fun light fixture (it’s supposed to be our dining room but it never will be).

My spring cleaning is far from done but there is something in the air that inspires this kind of activity. Spring is definitely a season of change. It’s been a while since I’ve taken time to reflect on small graces, but this blustery, busy season seems like just the right time. Recently, I’ve found graces in:

– the daffodils and hyacinths popping up all over the neighborhood
– friends who might think I’m slightly crazy but still reach out to commiserate with me
– sidewalk chalk
– the satisfaction in getting things done
– a budding author, the 6yo has written a book this week… with dragons in it… it’s SEVEN whole pages!
– the feel of warm sun on my skin
– a room filled with 3rd graders ready to receive Communion for the first time
– the first official cookout of the season – and the outlook of many, many more with this special group of friends

Leave a comment