oh the torture

My middle child has always had a special affinity for music. So, when she was six we started her on piano lessons. Piano seems to be the best building block for any instrument she may want to learn later in life. We initially invested in a decent keyboard and then after she stuck with it and seemed to do fairly well, we bought my mom’s old piano – the same piano on which I learned to play.

I started piano at the age of four and took lessons all the way thru high school. I did not keep up with it in college and I honestly don’t regret it too much – I still know enough that I can sit down and play just about anything if given enough time. And when the time comes (and it probably will some day) I will pick it up again.

But this post isn’t about me and any misguided musical talent. It’s about my 9 year old daughter.

She’s not a prodigy but she’s got a knack for music. When she gets a song to the point that it’s recognizable she truly enjoys playing it. It’s getting to that point that has become oh-so-painful. I know practicing is not high on any kid’s list of things to do. I know that she’s got a very busy schedule this fall with spell bowl and cheerleading added on to her normal activities. But wouldn’t you think that someone who claims to enjoy playing the piano would actually want to play it from time to time?

Nope, apparently not. Because when she’s reminded to practice she stomps and cries and moans and claims that it’s too hard. Oddly enough I pay money each month to hear her complain like this. So, I’ve given her an ultimatum. She has until the end of the year to show us that she has a genuine desire to learn the piano. That means she should be practicing on a regular basis without complaining.

We’re a month into this experiment and so far I’m not blown away by her desire. Not sure who this is torturing more at this point – the ever-dramatic child or her ever-impatient mother. Wish us luck.

Leave a comment