take me out to the ball game

It’s Little League season! Sitting on the bleachers with friends. Watching the boys grow and learn and have fun. Seeing half the town in the same place (see yesterday’s small town post). Eating nachos from the concession stand and watching the girls raid their piggy banks to buy cowtails and push-up pops. I love Little League.

It all started with Saturday’s parade:

And our first game was last night. Every kid on the team got a hit. (yes, even my son who seems slightly afraid of the ball – but only slightly)

We’ve moved up to the level where the kids hit from a pitching machine. As my son noted last night, this is way better than t-ball. Oh, t-ball was fun – kids running the bases the wrong way, six kids running into each other to try and get the ball and the ball rarely made it into anyone’s glove. But in rookie ball there are hits happening and the kids aren’t just fielding the ball (at least half the time) they are learning how to back up positions. There’s much more real baseball happening – all in the happily timed confines of 90 minutes.

But I think even when I get to the level that just has innings, not a clock, I’ll still like watching Little League baseball. To quote one of my favorite movies “I belong to the church of baseball.” Did you know that there are 108 beads in a Catholic rosary and there are 108 stitches in a baseball? I don’t know if that’s true but when Susan Sarandon says it as Annie Savoy I believe her. Now excuse me, I need to go find my copy of Bull Durham to watch tonight.

Leave a comment