Food Thursday: Shrimp & Broccoli Pasta

I really need to come up with more original names for my recipes.

Anyway – as I was cleaning up the kitchen last week, I noticed the ridiculous ever-growing pile of recipes stacked on my cookbooks. These are recipes from magazines & newspapers, rough ideas from articles, pictures from advertisements. Sometimes I follow them exactly, more often I combine a few or take some ideas of my own and add to them. I decided that this pile of recipes deserves some attention. And thus, my goal is to cook one completely new recipe each week. And I will share that recipe with you here.

This week – it was a shrimp, broccoli & pasta sort of dish that came out of a Women’s Day magazine. Though honestly the caramelized onions made the meal in my opinion so perhaps I should call it Caramelized Onion Pasta?? At any rate, it received thumbs up from all but the picky child (because, onions?!?).

Caramelized Onion Pasta
2 TB butter
1 large onion sliced thinly into 1/4 inch pieces
1/4 cup bread crumbs
1 box of your favorite short pasta (thin penne, gemelli, capanelle etc)
1 lb of shelled shrimp
1 lb of broccoli, cut into small florets
salt & pepper

1. Melt butter in a saucepan with a lid, add onions and a dash of salt. Stir to coat in butter. Turn heat to medium and cover. Cook for 15 minutes until very browned, stirring occasionally. For the last 3 minutes sprinkle breadcrumbs on the onions so they get toasted.

2. Heat water and cook pasta according to directions – use a large pot for this. With 5 minutes left in cooking time, add the broccoli and shrimp to the boiling water and let cook the remaining time. Reserve 1 cup of the pot water and then strain it all.

3. In a large bowl mix the pasta, shrimp & broccoli with the onion/breadcrumb mixture. Add some ground black pepper and the pot water to keep things moist. Then serve!

Leave a comment