Random Friday

It’s supposed to snow today. It’s a lake effect storm and the fun of a lake effect storm is you never really know how much you’re going to get. I could have three inches in my driveway tomorrow morning or I could wake up to a foot of snow. I could have eight inches of snow and my friend across town could have two. Lake effect storms are a funny thing. One thing is sure, there will be snow falling.

That stinks because I need to run to the grocery store today and whenever there’s a lake effect storm warning the grocery store is filled with people buying bread & milk. As if they won’t be able to leave their house tomorrow?!? I need food for the weekend whether it’s snowing or not snowing. Those people better stay out of my way because I’m too tired to be polite.

I also need to pick up girl scout cookies tomorrow, sort all the orders in my garage and then pester families to come pick up their cookies so I can park my car in the garage by nightfall. There are always at least two families that can’t/won’t/don’t get their cookies in a timely manner. Maybe this year I’ll start eating any boxes left in my garage starting Sunday at 3pm.

Tonight is the last Daddy/Daughter dance in this family until someone decides to get married. The 10yo is soooo excited and has planned what she’s wearing and doing to her hair down to the last detail. My husband is soooooo excited that this is the last Daddy/Daughter dance he will ever attend in an elementary school.

There’s no football on to watch this weekend. Here’s hoping there’s some great college basketball to help me wile away the hours of laundry folding and copy editing I have to do.

Once upon a time I used to look forward to Fridays because they signaled the start of two days of rest and relaxation. Now they just mean I can get up at 7 instead of at 5 but I’ll still have just as much to do during the day.

Which reminds me, I need to come up with a lesson plan for my Sunday School class.

Yep, this is how my mind works all day long. A constant stream of thoughts running into each other and reminding me of all the things I have to do.

2 thoughts on “Random Friday

  1. It’s snowing up here today too, but not good snow – it’s that weird pellet snow. I’m glad your daughter is excited for the daddy-daughter dance. Mine never wanted to go to one. She’s been to one dance (with a girlfriend) and probably won’t even go to prom unless she can wear sweats and converse. *sniff*

Leave a comment