I’m an introvert and that’s okay

I feel like I’m becoming a hermit. The days when I don’t have to go anywhere… have hours of silence in my house… are becoming some of my favorite days. It’s hard for some people to believe me when I say that. People who know me at a certain level (which is frankly most people) don’t believe me when I say that I’m an introvert. Because those people associate an introvert with someone who is shy. I’m not shy, in fact sometimes I’m even bold, but I’m definitely an introvert.

I like speaking in front of groups. But ask me to mingle with that same crowd at a cocktail party and I get nauseous.

I have no problems teaching my Religious Education class. But ask me to join my fellow teachers in any sort of group activity and I’ll find any reason not to go.

I love to have my friends over for dinner. But ask me to host more than 25 people at my house, extending my hospitality to people I barely know, and I’ll balk big time.

If I have to contact someone for a work project – or honestly any group project – I will ALWAYS choose email over a phone call.

I don’t know why people think being an introvert is bad. I think some people are even suspicious of people that like to be alone. I had someone look at me and shake her head in disbelief yesterday when I told her that I work from home and rarely have music or anything on in the background. She comes home and immediately turns on her television and falls asleep to that television because she can’t handle feeling like she’s the only one in the house – even when her family is there, she requires some sort of background noise. That’s fine for her, but it makes my head hurt just thinking about it.

As I get older I realize more and more the value of the things and people that bring me peace. I try to surround myself with those things. I recognize that I am energized when I have some time all to myself. And that’s okay.

5 thoughts on “I’m an introvert and that’s okay

  1. Yep. I get this. And I get the no noise thing too. That’s actually one of my favorite parts of being alone, no tv, no radio, just me and the silence. Although maybe that’s also a side effect of having three kids?

  2. I don’t know if I’m an introvert or an extrovert. I imagine I fall somewhere between, but I really enjoy quiet in my house. I believe that comes from spending my days with 8th graders.

Leave a comment