things that are driving me crazy

I got up to run in the dark this morning. Oh, I’ve gotten up at sunrise to run and I’ve even run in the dark before, but it’s not something that I do on a regular basis. Even though I didn’t really get up any earlier than I normally do, I was still grumbling a bit at the ridiculousness of running beneath the stars instead of waiting to run beneath the fall sunshine. (but I’ll freely admit that it’s very nice to have a solid run done before the day even starts) Here’s the thing that is still making me laugh – I wore a headlamp.

Oh, I’m not making fun of headlamps – they serve a very valid purpose. However, for years I have laughed & laughed at the silly people that go running with a lamp bobbing around on their head. It’s driving me a little crazy that I have officially joined that crowd. Know what else is driving me crazy?

There’s a place here in town selling fall decorations from the side of the road. They have a cute sign at the intersection closest to their road stand that says Fall Decorations Left – but the arrow painted on the sign points to the right. Someone at that road stand is directionally challenged. (I want to take a picture but I always hit the green light when I’m there.)

And then there is the sign in the middle of podunk Indiana that says: “traffic from the right and traffic from the left does not stop.” We ran into this one on the drive home from my triathlon a week or so ago. Whatever happened to the clear & simple: “cross traffic does not stop”??

That’s it really. A few things that have been driving me crazy for the past week or so. How about you – anything you want to get off your chest?

P.S. – An update to the ipod saga: The ipod has been found! The ipod has been found! 12yo learned a lesson on responsibility (I hope) and I didn’t feel like the meanest person in the world making her create a 10 month payment plan.

2 thoughts on “things that are driving me crazy

  1. I saw that Fleet Feet has a Halloween fun run and I thought, Hey, that’d be fun… until I saw that they required a head lamp. I just can’t do it!

Leave a comment