my son is Buddy the Elf

My kids were watching Elf yesterday and I was listening for some of my favorite lines when it hit me, my son is Buddy the Elf. Eager for approval and affection. A little too gangly to keep control of his limbs at all times. He likes to burp and call attention to it. He has a need to keep constantly active… well here, let me illustrate it using some of Buddy’s quotes:

The best way to spread Christmas cheer is singing loud for all to hear.
My son likes to sing. In preschool, he was the one kid whose voice you could hear above all the rest. When he knows the hymn at church he’s been known to belt it out so loudly others turn to look. And if you’re singing a Christmas song? He’s going to jump right in with you.

We elves try to stick to the four basic food groups: candy, candy canes, candy corns and syrup.
My son (while an excellent eater) would be more than happy to follow these guidelines. He’s the one that doesn’t understand why he can’t take candy to school for a snack, seems like a perfectly good option to him at any time of day.

I’m singing! I’m in a store and I’m siiiiiingiiiiing! I’m in a store and I’m siiiiiingiiiiing!
J will talk in a sing song voice or with made up words or with random noises just to hear his own voice. All the time.

In the scene where Buddy meets his brother after school: Why is your coat so big? So, good news – I saw a dog today. Have you seen a dog? You probably have. How was school? Was it fun? Did you get a lot of homework? Huh? Do you have any friends? Do you have a best friend? Does he have a big coat, too?
I’ve documented this before. My son? He’s full of questions. Often asked in this same breathless, fast-paced tone.

Why don’t you just say it? I’m the worst toy-maker in the world. I’m a Cotton-Headed Ninnymuggins!
J is easily frustrated when he can’t do something he thinks he should do. When he is frustrated, he has a tendency to be a very dramatic victim and call himself names. Though he’s never busted out cotten-headed ninnymuggins before.

My little tree-topper, who someday won’t need the boost on his father’s shoulders, is really just a goofy, lovable elf inside.

Leave a comment