It’s time

I apologize in advance for all the online posts that are coming your way about being tired, burned out and freaked out. See, I just registered to run a marathon this fall. My second marathon technically but this time I’m hoping to go the whole 26.2, making it my first honest-to-goodness, cross-the-finish-line-with-joy marathon.

IMM

I’ve known for a while now that I wanted to give this another shot. And since I had such a marvelous half marathon at Monumental last year I’ve been considering this race as my 26.2. It makes sense on a lot of levels. It’s a good time of year so the weather should be in my favor. It’s a place I feel comfortable running and am familiar with. I’ve run half the course and enjoyed it very much. It’s the place that has seen some of my best personal challenge moments. See also: first half marathon and Olympic Triathlon.

For the past month or so I’ve thought about the marathon on nearly every one of my runs. Wondering if I have it in me to tackle the training schedule. Wondering if I’ve learned enough to be smarter about it this time around. Wondering if I’m good enough to conquer this thing.

I think I am. It’s time.

4 thoughts on “It’s time

  1. You can do it! My second marathon was waaay better than my first, and a big part of that was knowing that to expect. Looking forward to reading your progress.

  2. You are totally good enough. And you can do this thing. I will be rooting for you from the start.

Leave a comment