Food Thursday: Brunch Plans

Easter is just around the corner and I’m starting to come up with a brunch menu in my head. I don’t have anything firm yet but I’m contemplating a finger-food sort of meal. I’m curious to see if I can come up with enough brunch items that don’t require a fork or a spoon. This oldie but goodie got me thinking along these lines: Mini Bacon Potato Frittatas (soooo good).

In my menu searching I dug up this idea. I’ve made it before but it’s been a very long time. I do believe it started as a Cooking Light recipe – which means it’s even a healthy (ish) addition to my potential brunch menu – but when I searched online, the sour cream coffee cake they have posted is different than mine. Whether you make it for brunch or a teacher’s breakfast or just because it’s Thursday – I hope you enjoy it.

Sour Cream Coffee Cake
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
2 tsp cinnamon
1 cup sugar
1/4 cup butter, softened
2 egg whites
1 cup low fat sour cream
1 tsp vanilla
1 3/4 cups flour
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
dash of salt
cooking spray

1. Combine first two ingredients and set aside.

2. Place sugar and butter in a large bowl and beat with a mixer until creamed. Add egg whites, one at a time, beating well after each addition. Beat in sour cream and vanilla. Mix for another minute or so. Lightly spoon flour into measuring cups and combine with baking powder, baking soda and salt. Gradually add flour mixture to the sugar mixture, beating well between additions.

3. Spray an 8-inch square baking pan with cooking spray. Pour half the batter in. Sprinkle half of the brown sugar/cinnamon mixture over the batter. Spread remaining batter in pan. Top with remaining brown sugar/cinnamon mix.

4. Bake at 350 for 45 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean from the center.

Note: I like to add nuts to the brown sugar/cinnamon mix – any variety of small chopped nuts will do – but my husband doesn’t like them so they aren’t included in the recipe. You, however, might be more open to the nut family and if so – a 1/4 cup of nuts added to the brown sugar/cinnamon makes a lovely topping.

Leave a comment